Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
School Board Recognition Month
School Board Recognition Month
Rachel Luther
Monday, January 28, 2019

The Arkansas Department of Education passed a resolution late last year declaring January as School Board Recognition Month. The Resolution was passed on November 8, 2018 and signed by the Chair of the Board, Dr. Jay Barth.  

School Board Recognition Month is a chance to recognize the impact that school boards make on school communities. The ADE resolution states that school board members “contribute countless hours of their time fulfilling their state-mandates roles and responsibilities” and “make key decisions regarding the curriculum, instruction, finance and facilities of our public schools.”

Cross County School District Superintendent Mr. Nathan Morris echoed these sentiments at the January school board meeting. Mr. Morris reminded the community that school board members often do more than the public realizes including attending professional development, conferences, and conference calls outside of their monthly meeting time.

Cross County is fortunate to have an extremely experienced school board with multiple members having served for over a decade. This service was acknowledged at the January school board meeting with a certificate presentation and student thank you video. In the future, board members will also have their professional photographs hanging up in the boardroom so that visitors can see the team behind the district’s success. The Cross County School Board is listed below by zone number.

Zone 1: Dennis Stevenson

Zone 2: Richard Imboden, Disbursement Officer

Zone 3: Dewayne Cameron

Zone 4: Shane Bell, Vice-President

Zone 5: Steve Stricklin

Zone 6: Joan Ball, President and Alt Disbursement Officer

Zone 7: Craig T. Walker, Secretary